As UCLA’s lecturer in Old Norse, I had the cool opportunity of being called up to write the runes in Disney’s Frozen, as well as the Old Norse lines the bishop speaks in the coronation scene.

The runes are Younger Futhark, and the language is Old Norse. One reader of this blog has already deciphered the runes correctly, so I won’t repeat what she says.

The lines the bishop speaks are in Old Norse, using reconstructed pronunciation rather than Modern Icelandic pronunciation. What he says is, “Sem hon heldr inum helgum eignum ok krýnd í þessum helga stað, ek té fram fyrir yðr…” (“As she holds the sacred objects, and having been crowned on this sacred site, I present…”).

For more about my background, see my profile here. And I don’t have an agent and thus I don’t have an IMDB page, but for the doubters out there, I do have a place in the credits if you wait till the very end:

Frozen Credits

 

What else can I read on this blog?

Star Wars, reimagined as an Icelandic Saga. You can read the whole saga in English here, and the introduction here. It was also posted as a .pdf with both the English and Old Norse text here. List of principal characters (and their equivalents in the Star Wars franchise) here.

The Cowboy Havamal. This is part of the classic Old Norse wisdom poem translated into dialect. You can also read about my soon-to-be-published translation of the Poetic Edda – the first time the original Norse myths will appear in plain modern English – here.

Recently I started putting up some informational posts on the Old Norse language.

More info on the author here, and I have a Twitter account, too.

